Heavy Lifting

Today was an extremely lazy Sunday. I woke up with a bad headache and didn’t get out of bed until 11:30, which is not how I like to spend my time. I mean, I love my bed and everything, but the feeling of productivity is worth more to me than anything. So after I managed to gather enough strength to pour myself a glass of water and take some aspirin, I decided to take a day for myself. It had been a while since I gave myself a day to relax and to do the things I want to do. I tidied up my room a bit, did a load of laundry, and sat down to watch some youtube videos with a nice home-made peppermint lattee (My current obsession.) Eventually I stumbled upon Kayley Hyde’s channel, Owlssayhoot, and one of her videos titled ‘The Art of Growing up’.

The video is a sort of response to the negative reviews of the film “The Art of Getting by”. After watching her video about the film, I decided to watch it. Instead of talking so much about the film, Kayley spends a few minutes gathering her thoughts on why she thinks the film was given such bad reviews; the generation gap. Kayley claims that to properly enjoy and fully appreciate this movie, you have to be a certain age or at a certain point in your life, and I agree. What kayley says is that it’s hard for older people, people who are less connected to their youths, to fully remember and understand how every little thing that happens between the ages of 14 and 18 is the end of the world. Every emotion is either black or white. And not only that, but you forget the importance of the things that you’ve experienced. You forget how heavy everything was. You forget that first drink, your first kiss, the first time you had sex. But between those ages, when you’re experiencing all of those things, nothing has ever been clearer in your mind than the weight of that PBR in your hand, or the chapped lips of the boy you’re kissing. In five years you may not remember the song you lost your virginity too, but within those few months, when it matters most, you know every single lyric.

I seemed to have lost where I was going with this, but all in all it’s a gorgeous film. I wouldn’t say it’s outstanding, it didn’t break my heart or leave an overly amazing impression, but it was good. It made me think and reflect upon my life in contrast to Sally and George’s, and although our experiences aren’t exactly the same, they’re similar, especially in the way things feel. Everything is heavy.

Kayla

Leave a Reply

