New things

I hate new things. But I love them, too.
I mostly love them when I either a) can’t fail, or b) know no one I know will be there to watch me fail. I don’t like failure. But yesterday, despite knowing that there would be people around me, and that I might, and probably would fail, I went to my first ultimate practice.
For those of you who don’t know, ultimate is a sport. It’s like football, but it’s no contact and instead of footballs, you use frisbees. Oh, I’m sorry, disks.
So anyway, a few of my friends are on the school ultimate team, and they encouraged me to come and try out, mostly because they need more girls, and they also know I play soccer, so i must not be completely useless. So with my best friend, we went to the first practice together and I DID NOT KNOW WHAT I WAS DOING. AT ALL. I had probably touched a disk a total of 10 times in my life. I didn’t know how to throw it, I didn’t know how to catch, and I sure as hell didn’t know anything about the game. (And really, I still don’t know anything about the game. I’m watching How to play ultimate 101 on youtube right now.) I was so angry at my friends for making me do this, especially without any previous instructions.
So we did a few drills, I was completely lost, and then we were broken up into 4 teams and we scrimmaged. Thankfully I was put on a team with someone that I knew, and my opposing team partner (Check? Cheque?) was a mutual friend. I did not know what the heck I was doing. I was pretty useless. Although once, I did knock down the frisbee to make sure the other team didn’t get it. I’m pretty sure I was supposed to do that.
After the scrimmage, a few of us stayed for a while and passed back and forth. I stayed back 45 minutes past the end of practice and I learned a lot. David, my friend, taught me how to flick and throw. Are their proper terms for that? Probably.
I’m excited for the season. I need to get into better shape though, apparently soccer isn’t cutting it for my sprinting skills. But I am making a point to dedicate myself to this sport and the season. Just watch, by the end of the season, I will be amazing.
So long story short, new things are good. I guess.

Kayla

Leave a Reply

