Coffee

I started drinking coffee regularly 4 years ago, just before my ninth grade school year. For about a year and a half after that, I would make coffee for my family every morning in our close-to-antique-but-not-nearly-as-nice coffee maker. I loved that part of my morning. But then the coffee maker broke, and instead of replacing it, my mom decided to invest in an espresso machine. And right off the bat, I didn’t like it. Granted, the quality of my daily intake rose from meh drip coffee to high end espresso, but it wasn’t for me. It took too long, and there was just something that wasn’t the same.
But the other day, I pulled out the drip coffee machine that my mom had bought me for Christmas for my new place. The next morning, I dug out three scoops of my peaberry coffee grounds, poured in the three cups of water, and turned the thing on to brew while I went to get dressed and do my makeup to start the day. And wow.
I don’t think I’ll be able to properly express how wonderful I felt as the coffee was brewing. From the washroom on the first floor, while I was doing my makeup, I could hear the coffee maker spewing the coffee into the glass pot, and I realized that I hadn’t heard that sound in years. The sound that I had heard on a daily basis for years of my life had disappeared, and I hadn’t realized how much I missed it until I heard it again that morning. And on top of that, the smell – And I don’t have a sense of smell. (Yup. My sniffer is pretty useless, other than being a whack of skin and cartilage in the middle of my face to put hold my septum ring) But despite not being able to smell, I think I could. I could tell that there was coffee in the air.
So where am I going with this? I’m not sure. All I know is that I missed coffee makers more than I realized, and I’ve been better since I’ve had one in my life again. Lame, I know, but waking up is easier. Making coffee is easier. There’s a reason why people write about the smell of coffee in the morning. It’s incredibly romantic, in the proper sense of the word.
A 20$ coffee maker may not seem like much, but I’m pretty sure it has restored a lot of hope and motivation in my life.
Judge me all you want, but my life is hands down a much better place now.

Leave a Reply

