Perry and Cox

Despite the constant rumours and heartbreak surrounding any FRIENDS reunion, I believe that there is still hope for those who can’t get enough of the Friends stars in sitcoms. This past year, both Courtney Cox and Matthew Perry had shows airing on television. Cox stars in Cougar Town, which just finished their fourth season, and Perry had his second shot in the spot light with Go On, which unfortunately didn’t get picked up for another season.
In order to really appreciate the shows, I think it’s important to remember that the former Friends stars aren’t playing Monica and Chandler in their new lives, but new characters completely. With Cougar Town, it was easy for me because Jules Cobb, and the rest of the characters are wonderful. But with Go On I couldn’t get past the fact that Perry wasn’t very sarcastic or uncomfortable. I guess a piece of my heart will never let go of Chandler.
On to my actual thoughts on both shows.
Cougar Town:
I started watching this show when it first premiered, a few years back, and didn’t love it. I think I was a bit young at the time to really appreciate what it was. But going back to watch the handful of seasons this past year, I fell in love with it. The characters are all quirky, and have strong personalities. From Jules, to her son, there is something for everyone. I’m not a huge fan of how the last season ended, because it seemed to be taking a turn away from a light hearted sitcom, but we’ll see.
Fun Fact: The Cul-De-Sac crew actually inspired me to give my new favourite alcoholic beverage, being wine, a chance.

Go On:
For those of you who don’t know, Go On follows Perry’s character, a newly widowed sports radio news anchor, and his Loss Support Group. In all honesty, I’m not too surprised that it wasn’t picked up for a second season. The plot was good, and it had it’s shining moments, but I felt like none of the characters were relatable, or even that likeable. On top of that, most of the episodes were a bit drawn out and even… a tad boring. It is a shame that it didn’t have a chance to rise form the ashes, and become something more. Hopefully in the future Matthew gets another chance to star in a sitcom.

Leave a Reply

