Passion

Just last week, my Crim 230 exam changed my life. We’re halfway through the semester now, and I knew I thoroughly enjoyed the class, but after having really studied the material in preperation for the exam, I now know this is what I need to do with the rest of my life.

I have never enjoyed studying for an exam. I’m not a good studier. Things don’t come easy to me. I procrastinate studying, and I complain, and it sucks. But this was an entirely different situation. I would actually bribe myself with my crim notes. “Okay Kayla, write 40 minutes of your World Literature essay, and then you can study for crim for an hour”. I’m not even kidding!

What a nerd, right? I can’t explain it, but it was like I needed all of that information in my brain. The criminal code sections, the exceptions for the necessity of an actual act to forms Actus Reus – Okay. I’ll stop now.

But it was almost life changing, this exam. Enjoying learning. Loving it. And then on top of all of that, writing the exam and knowing the answers, and being excited to write the written parts. Let me tell you, this is what I always want to study. This is what I’m meant to fill my little brain with and make a living off of. Law.

Now that I know such a passion exists in me, I’ve been much more motivated. I have something to really, really, work towards. I have something to be excited about that my mother would be proud of. Now that I know what it feels like to enjoy studying and working really hard for something, I can’t imagine ever wanting to do something else. Working hard has never been so rewarding, and this is the feeling I want to feel for the rest of my life.

Bring it on, Criminal Law.

xoxo,
Kayla

Leave a Reply

