Night Time Routine

So last week, I shared with you my morning routine.  And as much as I absolutely loovvvveeee starting my morning the way I do, I have an awful night time routine.  Hell, I don’t even have a routine. What happens usually is that I look at the clock, it’s way past my bedtime, then I pop a melatonin.  And the thing is, I don’t even start going to bed after that.  I stay up for another hour or so, watching netflix, planning my week, etc.  It’s sad, really.  I stay up late, trying to be productive, when in reality I know that the best thing for me to do is to go to bed. This is one of my goals to change.  I want to put together a night routine.  Something that really helps to wind me down and get ready for bed.  Something that involves a daily pampering.   So for the next few days, I’m going to try to follow through with the routine that I’ve planned out for myself. Hopefully by having both a stellar morning routine, and also night time routine, I’ll be better at getting all the sleep I need and it will help with the whole ‘becoming an adult’ thing. Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 12.40.57 AM Proposed morning routine:

1) Tea: Since I love starting my day with a cup of tea (specifically Oprah Chai), I think that ending my day with a cup also be quite beneficial.  I’m not a huge fan of the typical Chamomile for a sleepytime tea, so I’ll probably lean more towards some flavoured rooibos teas.

2) Skincare:  Recently I’ve been very lazy with my skin, and I blame that on my skin finally clearing up. But it’s time that I start taking much better care of my skin, especially If I want to wake up feeling, and looking, fresh faced.  This isn’t my entire skincare routine, but on a given night I’ll wash my face with any generic cleanser, or use my Ocean Salt from Lush (I L.O.V.E this stuff, but it’s a tough exfoliant that shouldn’t be done everyday).  Then i follow up by moisturizing, right now I’m using an Olay one.

3) Journal:  I think that spending 10-15 minutes journaling, and debriefing my day, will be really beneficial for my. I’m a sucker for closure, after all.

4) Read: Putting it simply, I don’t read enough.  I’ll either zip through a book in a week, or even a few days, or I won’t read a book for a month.  It’s pretty bad, and I want to change that. I want to aim to read for about 20 minutes a night (or until I fall asleep).

So here’s to a week of ending the day right. Hopefully by unplugging from the internet for an hour or so before I go to bed I’ll be able to fall asleep quicker, obtain a better quality of sleep, and see some little improvements in my life.

xoxo,
Kayla

Follow me on bloglovin’!

Leave a Reply

