Spending Freeze

Oh boy.  I’ve put of writing this post a little bit because telling the world about money troubles makes it that much more real.  Recently, I’ve been spending like a fiend, and it’s not good and it needs to stop now.  I could give you excuses, tell you were it all started, but none of that is really important.  The only important thing is for me to sit down and admit to myself, and all of you, that it’s time to take the reins.

To put it simply, I’ve been spending money like I’m not a student who’s working a part time job for minimum wage. Which I am in fact doing.  It’s not a glamorous life, and I need to stop pretending it is.

The way I’m going to do this, is that I’m not going to buy anything that I don’t need.  Simple as that.  Need a coffee?  I’ll make one before I leave the house.  The same will go for food.  Ah, Food.  It’s another big one for me.  I’ve somehow made it a habit over the past month to go out to restaurants for dinner, in which I would order a full meal, including drinks and sometimes appetizers.  Yeah, I really can’t afford that.   And as far as makeup and clothes go, nope!  Not unless I need  it.  And by ‘need’ I mean ‘ran out of’.  That’s reasonable, right?

Hopefully this will last for a month, and we’ll see where I am after that.  (Although it probably won’t be very far, since I’m making 10.25 an hour)

xoxo,
Kayla

One comment

  1. It’s very brave of you to put it out here! I’m sure you will succeed and I wish you all the luck in the world!

Leave a Reply

