Body Image – Loving yourself.

I have never been happy with my body.  I’m carrying around some extra weight that I would love to shed, I’ve always been aware of how I look in leggings, and dresses and anything that isn’t particularly flattering.  I have always been extremely self conscious of my size, and I’ve always thought that “Once I lose the weight then I’ll be happy, and comfortable in my skin”.

But that’s not the case anymore.  I’m not letting myself wait to be happy with myself.  I don’t know how it happened, but over the past few months, I’ve really started to love myself, specifically my body.  I feel comfortable in a bikini, and in shorts, and I’m okay wearing clothing that I previously wouldn’t have felt okay in.  For example, I have a maxi dress that is similar to this one in it’s cut, and when I’m wearing it, I’ve got a little bit of a tummy in it.  And before this would make me uncomfortable to wear it.  I would have to wear a vest or a cardigan to cover it up. But not anymore!  Somehow, I’m okay with it.  I’m okay with my body, and I don’t even really care anymore! I mean, of course I would like to lose the weight, and I’m still going to work on being more active, but it’s not holding me back anymore!

IMG_4987

 

When it all comes down to it, I think I would rather be confident in my body, and have the extra weight, than be really tiny and be insecure.  We all know those people who don’t necessarily have super model bodies, but because they’re so confident, they’re still so radiant and intriguing!  And that’s what I want.  I want my confidence and personality to shine through, not my insecurities.

xoxo
Kayla

One comment

Leave a Reply

