First Impressions: Fall 2014 Semester

We’re just over a week in September, and that means we’re done the first week of school.  This is my second Fall semester of University, marking my one year anniversary with Post secondary education.

I’m taking 4 courses this semester, and I think that’s the perfect work load for me.  I don’t live on campus, so my commute takes a lot of time out of my schedule, and I also still work part time at a cafe a few times a week.  Four classes, for me, leaves me enough time to balance my life.  While it’s important to throw yourself into everything you do it’s still important to make time for your friends. 

So let’s talk about my first impressions about this semester.  (Or for any Legally Blonde fans out there, what i like to refer to as the winter overster.)

I was unsure at first because I had to really fight to get into the classes that I wanted, but luckily I did.  All but one.  A science course targeted towards Arts kids, like me.  Luckily there was another class I could take in replacement of that one, the only thing is it’s at 8:30 in the morning.  That means I have to leave my house around 6:30, if I want to make sure I’m on time.  I wasn’t exactly sure how I would deal with the early classes (Last year my one 8:30 class was pushed to 9am and that still killed me.), but I’m on the bus headed to that class now, and even though I had to wake up early, I’m cling alright with it.  The prof for that is nice, and so far I’m understanding pretty much all of the subject matter, even if it is human biology class. 

Next i have my Psychology class.  For my major I need to take a lot of introductory classes for other majors, including two psychology classes. This year I’m taking the second of these introductory classes, and aside from it being a reading heavy class, it seems pretty simple.  Just reading and comprehension, and like with anything, some memorizing. 

Then I’m finally taking two criminology classes.  I’ll just come out and say it right now: I haven’t actually been to one of them, but I listened online to the lecture recording online and really enjoyed it.  And for the criminology class I did attend, the prof was a bit intense, but I’m also really excited for her class.  They’re both pretty basic courses, since they’re both 100 level courses (Criminology courses are in extremely high demand at my university, so it’s really difficult to get into them). 

There will be a lot of reading to do this semester, and I’m determined to stay on top of it all, including regular review sessions and making all of my flashcards ahead of time.  It’s going to be an intense semester, but I’m determined to do well, so I know I will.

xoxo

Kayla 

Leave a Reply

