On Being a Student…

6:45 on a tuesday and I’m sitting on the (very bumpy) bus with a tummy full of pumpkin spice latte.  I woke up this morning to find my oldest iPod/iPhone charger had finally bit the dust, which means my phone didn’t charge last night.  17% at 6:20 am isn’t going to last me through the day, so with my hand made and not quite as good as starbucks PSL in one hand, and my laptop and phone in the other, I tried to get my affairs in order to charge my phone through my laptop.  Long story short, my A,S and D key have been victim to the PSL along with my right sleeve of a new button up plaid. I don’t know which is worse, the fact that I feel sick from chugging the rest of my latte, my potentially orange stained shirt, or my sticky keys. 

IMG_6032

This is just a prime example of something that I wanted to touch upon: Being a student.  Additionally, being a student who commutes 3-4 hours a day, with an addiction to coffee and who shops primarily at old navy. 

I’ve been thinking a lot about what the title ‘Student’ means to me.  As it’s a title I so tightly cling to, I only think it’s appropriate that I define it, at least to myself. 

Drinking a lot of coffee.
Carrying books and notes everywhere with me just in case I have a moment to spare.
Constantly being torn between wearing leggings and sweatshirts or dressing nicely everyday.
Waking up at 5:30 and spending a god chunk of my week on public transit.
Using a lot of post it notes.
Trying to get ahead but somehow managing to always be slightly behind on readings.
Putting school before anything else.
Struggling to keep a good work out schedule and meal plan.
Snapchatting.  A lot.
Hopefully all this work will pay off!

xoxo
Kayla

Leave a Reply

