We were Liars.

For those of you who don’t know, E.Lockhart’s latest book has been absolutely everywhere.  When I walk into the bookstore, it’s there. When I load my youtube page, it’s there. When Chapters sends me and email, it’s there.

16143347

So I decided to load it onto my iPad and give it a go.  Other than seeing the title and the cover everywhere, I hadn’t really actually heard anything about the book.  And it was not what I expected.

To be honest it wasn’t for me.  I wasn’t a fan of the prose, for several reasons.  The characters and their relationships all seemed a bit off, and shallow.  I thought I would really like the story line itself, but as the book went on I found it harder and harder to finish.

If I had read the book 5 years ago, I know I would have loved it.  The Prose/poetry verse and the ambiguity of the characters and story would have intrigued me, but I think now I just found it basic. And I’m not about that life.

xoxo
Kayla

Leave a Reply

