Winged Eyeliner

It occured to me the other day that I have consistently worn winged eyeliner since 2011. That may not sound like a long time for anyone, but I am definitely not the kind of person that keeps things the same for very long.  I can’t go half a year without moving my furniture around, I am constantly switching my phone background and case, and while one day I’ll order a pumpkin spice latte, the next I’ll order a coffee, black.  So with all of that being said, I’m super impressed with myself for having stuck with something for so long.  (Although I probably still do it because I feel like it took so long to master I would be wasting some serious talent if I stopped)

My wings are usually very thick, and prominent. They aren’t just little flicks, but full on wings.  (You’d think after 4 years of it, I would have pictures, but of course I don’t.) But because I do such thick wings, I go through eyeliner pretty quickly, and since I’ve tried so many different kinds, I thought I’d share them with you!

csm_49102_b59db523a0 urlmaster-precise_pack-shot imgres

Essence Liquid Eyeliner 8/10
This little drugstore gem has recently stolen my heart, and it’s my favorite liquid liner to use!  It comes in a tiny little tube about the size of my thumb, it applies super black, the staying power is amazing, and the best part is that it’s only about $3.  Yeah.  It’s that cheap! Granted, it’s not the easiest to work with, and I have to make sure there isn’t excess product on the applicator before I apply it on my eyes or else it clumps up and gets all over my eyelashes, but once you work out the kinks, it’s an amazing product!

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Eyeliner 6.5/10
This eyeliner has a huge following among the youtube beauty gurus, so I thought I would give it a shot. If you’re a beginner with the winged eyeliner, and you don’t plan to do super heavy wings, I think this one has potential, but with that having said it wasn’t for me.  The things I look for in eyeliner are 1)lasting power 2)ease of application 3)a long life 4)good price.  Stila only checks one of those boxes for me and it’s the ease of application. Because it’s a pen style eyeliner, it’s super easy to apply, and the wings I got with it were always beautiful.  But the lasting power was mediocre, it only lasted me about a month (maybe a month and a half if I skipped using it on weekends) an it costs $26. That’s just not okay.

Maybelline Mater Precise Liquid Eyeliner 6/10
The first that I ever used was the Maybelline Master Precise, and I loved it.  But looking back, this one is extremely similar to the Stila Stay all day, but just with worse lasting power and a lower price.  It retails for about 10$, it wouldn’t last through the day, the product only lasted a month before drying out, but it was fairly easy to use.  As a drugstore eyeliner, it’s good for beginners but there are better ones out there.

Maybelline Line Stilleto liquid eyeliner 9/10
This one has been one of my favorite eyeliners for years, and for obvious reasons.  1) Lasting Power:  With the waterproof version, this bad boy will stick onto your eyes like glue! But will also come off at the end of the night with a makeup remover.  2)Ease of application: This one can be a bit tricky to work with if you’ve never used one like this before, but once you get used to it it’s a great product.  It’s not as easy or effortless as the pen formats (or even the essence product), but it’s not awful.  3)A long life: One tube of this product will last me 6 months.  6 months of drawing thick wings onto my eyes every day, and it lasted that long.  I’m still impressed. 4)Good Price: This one, like all other drugstore eyeliners, retails for about 10$, which is a very decent price, especially knowing that it lasts so long!

If there are any other eyeliners you think I should try out, let me know!

Kayla

Follow me on Bloglovin’! 

ps: I once did a black swan makeup look for Halloween with the maybelline  Line Stilleto, check it out! (Be warned, I was in highschool!)

 

Leave a Reply

