Just do it – Running Goals

I’ve always wished I could be a runner.  Lacing up those Nike Frees, playing a perfectly set up playlist, and hitting the pavement for 30+ minutes.  So I decided to become a runner.

IMG_0474.PNG
This picture was taken a while ago, and those are my Nike frees! I’m also sporting my favourite running accessory – my polar watch! (1.7miles is about 2.7km)

I decided to lace up my runners, and run.  Admittedly, I don’t run very long, or as often as I’d like, but I still do it.  Some weeks I don’t run at all, and some weeks I’ll go for 4 5k runs, and I can definitely tell you that weeks I do run, I feel so much better than when I don’t.  Running helps me clear up my mind, feel more productive, and I just overall feel so much better!

When I go on runs, I like to do them outside.  I do go to the gym often, but I absolutely hate running for more than 15 minutes on the treadmill, or elliptical.  But the atmosphere of running outside? You just can’t beat it.  The crisp autumn air, the colours, it can’t be beat!  And when I do run outside, I always wear my Nike Free 7s.  They’ve got a lot more support than the 3s, or 5s, and plus they’re so cute!  As for apparel, I love the Old Navy workout line, and I also pick up the occasional Under Armour, Nike and Adidas pieces.

I definitely need to step up my running game. Right now, excluding gym workouts, I’m averaging on about 15km per month, which is only 3 long runs, which is definitely not enough.  May 2014 I totalled in at 45km.  That’s a huge difference, and knowing that I can do that really motivates me to reach that goal again. We’re a few days before the end of October, and I’ve hit 24km, and my fitness goal for November is to hit 45km again, in addition to going to the gym and lifting.

To quote Nike, ‘Just do it’

Kayla
Follow me on bloglovin’! 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

